Household information for 1105 Altschul Avenue


Special Districts, Elective

We are in San Mateo County voting precinct #3402. Unless otherwise noted, elected officials take office the Monday following New Year's Day after their elections.

(1105 Altschul Avenue is on a strip of unincorporated county land called variously West Menlo Park or "University Heights".)

Menlo Park Fire Protection District:
This district covers 30 square miles of southern San Mateo County. Fire Station 4 is at the corner of Alameda de las Pulgas and Valparaiso Ave.
(five elected Board members, staggered four-year terms, in even-numbered years starting Nov. 6, 2018):

Meets: third Tuesdays, 7 p.m., Station 1, 300 Middlefield Rd. near USGS and the former Sunset Publishing offices, Menlo Park.

Sequoia Union High School District:
This district covers about the southern third of San Mateo County, and operates six high schools.
(five board members elected by voters to staggered four-year terms, plus one trustee picked annually by students, elections in even numbered years starting 2017):

Starting 2018, the District switched to Area Elections.

Areas A and D were elected in November 2018. Areas B, C, and E were elected in 2020.

Meets: Approximately fortnightly on dates as scheduled, 5:30 p.m., Birch Conference Room, Sanford Building, 480 James Ave. @ Elwood St., Redwood City.

Las Lomitas Elementary School District
Small district operating two schools serving western Menlo Park and Atherton: Las Lomitas (grades K-3) and La Entrada (grades 4-8).
(five elected Governing Board members, staggered four-year terms)

Meets: Usually 3rd Wednesdays (with exceptions), 7:30 p.m., La Entrada School library, 2200 Sharon Rd. @ Altschul Ave., Menlo Park.

Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Independent special district funded by a parcel property tax starting 1972, divided into seven geographic wards. Acquires open space land; protects, restores, and enhances natural resources; plans for and manages land for low-intensity recreational use by the public. Covers 550 square miles of northwestern Santa Clara County, southern San Mateo County, and a small piece of Santa Cruz County.
(seven elected Board members, staggered four-year terms):

Meets: 2nd and 4th Wednesdays, 7:30 p.m., District Administrative Office, 330 Distel Cir. nr. corner of W. El Camino Real and S. Rengstorff Ave., Los Altos.

Sequoia Healthcare District:
Covers roughly the southern third of San Mateo County.
(five elected Board members, staggered four-year terms)

Starting Sept. 2017, the District switched to district (vs. at-large) representation.

Board members must reside in their districts; voters pick only their own district's representatives. Zones A, C, and E were elected in 2018. Zones B (ours) and D were elected in 2020.

Meets: first Wednesday in odd-numbered months (with exceptions), 4:30 p.m., Sequoia Room, Sequoia Hospital, 170 Alameda de las Pulgas between Whipple Ave. and Edgewood Rd., Redwood City.

Explanation: The Sequoia Healthcare District is a purposeless political body still eating taxpayer (parcel tax) funds after the 1996 substantive sale of Sequoia Hospital to a non-profit corporation (Sequoia Health Services) managed by Catholic Healthcare West. Board members pledged to dissolve the District (just Jack Hickey, who was dislodged in 2018) keep getting outvoted. More at:,1413,87%257E11305%257E2500520,00.html

West Bay Sanitary District:
Serves the southernmost cities and unincorporated areas of San Mateo County.
(five elected Board members, staggered four-year terms)

Meets: second and fourth Mondays, 7:00 p.m., district headquarters, 500 Laurel St. @ Burgess Dr., Menlo Park.

Updated: Wed Oct 13 00:59:11 PDT 2021