[ Contents | Administrivia | The Shadow | Non-Dark | Sources | Prophecy | Publishing ]

Chapter Icon

0.07 Who is Robert Jordan, really? What else has he written?

"Robert Jordan" is actually a pseudonym for James Oliver Rigney, Jr., under which he has written the "Wheel of Time" fantasy series as well as several books of the "Conan" series (Conan the Invincible, C.t.Unconquered, C.t.Magnificent, C.t.Victorious, C.t.Triumphant, C.t.Destroyer, C.t.Defender).

Other pseudonyms which he has used are Reagan O'Neal (the "Fallon" series of historical novels), Jackson O'Reilly (Cheyenne Raiders, a Western), and Chang Lung (contributions to various periodicals including Library Journal). [Source: Contemporary Authors vol. 140].

Many, if not all of the Conan books are still in print. Tor Books has re-released the Fallon books under the "Forge" imprint, with covers done by infamous fantasy artist Darrell K. Sweet.

RJ has told several people, at signings and in letters, that if^H^H when he completes TWOT, he plans to write another fantasy tale set in a Seanchan-like culture. The main character will be a more mature figure than Rand, and the tale involves him being shipwrecked in pseudo-Seanchan, where whatever is cast up on the shores of one's estate becomes one's property, even people. Doubtless, there'll be many changes from RJ's description to the actual story, but it gives us something to look forward to.

[ Previous Section | Previous | Section Contents | Next | Next Section ]

[ Contents | Administrivia | The Shadow | Non-Dark | Sources | Prophecy | Publishing ]

Illustrations © 1989-2000 by Tor Books.

The Wheel of Time FAQ. Copyright 2004 by Leigh Butler, Pamela Korda and Erica Sadun. HTML implementation by Leigh Butler. This site maintained by Pam Korda (pam@linuxmafia.com). Comments and questions regarding the content itself should be directed to Leigh Butler (leighdb@pacbell.net).